EXO-TECH | NY large ensemble collective

EXO-TECH is a New York large ensemble collective formed in 2016 by Sophia and NZ pop innovator Kimbra. Created so a community of musician friends could experiment in collective group improvisation and song-form composition, EXO-TECH created transcendent live performance experiences in-the-round, traversing fields echoing Talking Heads, Can, The Knife, and Art Ensemble of Chicago, influenced by jazz, improvisation and modern pop, mb, no-wave, disco, psychedelia and free experimentation.

The group features an ever-changing cast of some of New York and beyond’s most respected music luminaries, and after their second ever show, were invited into New York’s Red Bull Studios as inaugural artists-in-residence where they brought together an incredible line-up of collaborators to record what will be the debut release from the group due out in 2018.

EXO members and past collaborators include:
Stuart Bogie (Arcade Fire, Antibalas), Bilal, Sophia Brous, David Byrne, Brian Chase (Yeah Yeah Yeahs), Benjamin Lazar Davis, Angel Deradoorian (Deradoorian, Dirty Projectors), Trevor Dunn, Greg Fox (Ex Eyes, GDFX), Jeremy Gustin (Marc Ribot, The Strokes), Dave Harrington (Darkside), Miho Hatori (Cibo Matto), Yuka Honda (Cibo Matto), Lars Hortveth (Jaga Jazzist, Todd Terje), Shahzad Ismaily, Kimbra, Sean Ono Lennon, Danny Meyer, Sara Neufeld (Arcade Fire), Questlove, Caroline Polachek (Chairlift), Mauro Refosco (Dirty Projectors, David Byrne), Marc Ribot, Jared Samuel, Greg Saunier (Deerhoof), Cleek Schrey, Colin Stetson, Moses Sumney, Alex Toth (Rubblebucket), IIan Volkov, Joan Wasser (Joan As Policewoman), Jim White (Dirty Three, Xylouris White), Doug Weiselman (Antony and The Johnsons, Laurie Anderson), Spencer Zahn (Empress Of, Twin Shadow), Peter Zummo and more.


January 1, 2016